Patient Experience Q&A Sessions: Kadean Ogilvie-Pinter from Lady Dunn Health Centre – Wawa

We met and interviewed Kadean at National Forum for Patient Experience. Kadean is from Lady Dunn Health Centre – Wawa where she’s the director of patient care and nursing.

Strategy Institute: can you tell us a little bit about your role and involvement in patient experience?

Kadean: I’m involved in Patient Experience, not at the direct level, but in any complaints or any concerns, those come to me, but also I’m involved in terms of looking at the quality of care that we’re giving to our patients on that level, that how I would say I’m involved in patient Experience.

Strategy Institute: because you’re involved in Patient Experience on a different level, like we do have a lot of people talking about you know gathering this information, accumulating it…for you the challenges you face when dealing with the patient experience are very different. What are the main challenges you face in your role?

Kadean: I think in terms of understanding what has happened to patients, there’s different tactics that I use in terms of interviewing staff or even going back to the patient to get an understanding, but I think within our organization we’re still in the infancy of Patient Experience where we have the basic things there, we have the satisfaction surveys. I think we could more to get that information and to see the impact of how we’re delivering care, so this conference has been very great today to give me some ideas starting to do some brainstorming that I could take back and maybe not knowing all the challenges, because we haven’t done a lot in terms of engaging patients, to give us their experience and to change things based on that.

To meet patient experience professionals making a difference to Canadian Healthcare be sure to check our Patient Experience conference. We have one of the strongest panel of speakers in Canada and over 200 delegates to network with – to give you an insight into the companies who attend this event, check out our past attendees.

Key Challenges and Solutions in Patient Experience